COVID-19 Safety Information

C-Club Hall of Fame Inducts Eight on Oct. 31


Eight new members will be inducted into the SUNY Cortland C-Club Hall of Fame during its 41st annual banquet and ceremonies on Saturday, Oct. 31, in Corey Union.

The 2009 honorees are Donald J. Hartley '58, Kay Shanks Barton '66, Francine Kalafer '73, Joanne "Jodi" Schmeelk '73, Perry Nizzi '77, Richard "Rick" Suddaby '79, and honorary inductees Katherine "Tyke" Ley (posthumous) and Beulah "Buff" Wang.

Established in 1969, the C-Club Hall of Fame recognizes Cortland alumni who competed as athletes at the College and who have since distinguished themselves in their professions and within their communities. Honorary members are recognized for their long and significant contributions to SUNY Cortland athletics.

New C-Club members have been added annually, and this year's ceremony will bring the Hall of Fame roster to 208 alumni and 23 honorary members.

For complete biographies of the 2009 inductees, visit