COVID-19 Safety Information

Transfer Students Honored for Academic Excellence

Sixty students were inducted into Tau Sigma, the national honorary for transfer students, at a ceremony on April 7 at SUNY Cortland.

Tau Sigma celebrates the academic excellence of transfer students and promotes their involvement on campus. To qualify for membership, students must transfer with at least 24 credits, complete a minimum of 12 credits at SUNY Cortland, and earn a 3.5 GPA or higher in their first semester. Symbolizing “transition” and “scholarship,” Tau Sigma recognizes high achievement through a period of transition. This year 154 students met the criteria and 60 accepted membership to the honor society.

Guest speaker Timothy Phillips, associate professor from the Economics Department, recognized the inductees and their achievements at the 14th annual induction ceremony for the Cortland chapter.

The following students were inducted:

Samantha Banghart, Ashley Bannon, Andrew Barnes, Thomas Benedict, Robyn Berger, Zachary Birnbaum, Madelyn Blackman, Taylor Bood-Usher, Jacqueline Bouchard, Alexandra Bradsell, Ryan Braymer, Alexandra Brown, Christopher Carey, Jake Carrol, Kinsey Chase, Sydney Coon, Jessica Diehl, Megan Dill, Cody Doane, Colleen Donnelly, Giorgianna Ervolina, Ashley Foder, David Grant, Amanda Gray, Matthew Hauser, McKenzie Henry, Megan Hill, Aaron Homer, Alexandra Hummel, Korey Kennedy, Jennifer Kipp, Anna Klatt, Kirsten Klein, Ryan Lamberti, Chad Lawrence, Kayla Mansfield, Stephanie Mattice, Alexis Megliore, Britini Merrill, Tracy Miranda, Melissa Mitchell, Danielle O'Neill, Jacqueline O’Rourke, Taylor Pirozzolo, Carissa Plesums, Jolie Porter, Alyssa Proper, Charlotte Rosvold, Kristin Russo, Chance Ryan, Nicholas Schuldt, Kaylin Smith, Melissa Sprole, Brian Thornton, Olivia Trumino, Kaitlin VanDervort, Julia West, Marley Wilson, Marissa Wuilliez and Maya Zaynetdinova.

The following faculty and staff were recognized by the students as individuals that were especially supportive:

Julie Barclay, Geology Department

Martine Barnaby Art and Art History Department

Claire Barrett, Childhood/Early Childhood Education Department

Philip Buckenmeyer, Kinesiology Department

Kathleen Burke, Economics Department

Evan Faulkenbury, History Department

Mary Gfeller, Mathematics Department

Michele Gonzalez, Literacy Department

Regina Grantham, Communication, Disorders and Sciences Department

Cynthia Halpin, Performing Arts Department

Andrea Harbin, English Department

John Hartsock, Communications Department

Michael Hough, Biological Sciences Department

Beth Klein, Childhood/Early Childhood Education Department

Denise Knight, English Department

Andrea LaChance Childhood/Early Childhood Education Department

Deborah Matheron, Communication, Disorders and Sciences Department

Wendy Miller, Geography Department

Katherine Polasek, Kinesiology Department

Diane Richards, Childhood/Early Childhood Education Department

Helene Roth Schmid, Physical Education Department

Judith Schillo, Childhood/Early Childhood Education Department

Judith VanBuskirk, History Department

Dennis Weng, Political Science Department

John Young, Maintenance

Richard Zurell, Transportation