News Detail

Twenty-six students were inducted into Psi Chi, the national honorary in psychology, on April 5 in Corey Union Function Room.

The initiates for this year are Meghan Babiarz, Emily Cianciotta, Alysia Damin, Carol Dannenhoffer, Jacqueline DeLuise, Kaitlin Dunn, Alexandra Ednie, Matthew Fabrizio, Kelly Foster, Michael LaBarbera, Chelsea Leon, Katherine LiButti and Alecia Loveland.

Inductees include Stefanie Meyers, Ariel Morrison, Scott Neri, Erica Raepple, Megan Rehm, Brittany Rich, Ashley Rogers, Emily Smith, Virginia Smith, Alyssa Tyson, Alexandra Weissmann, Brittie Wintle and Brianna Yetsko.

The banquet and ceremony were conducted by the Psi Chi Cortland chapter officers President Lauren DiRusso and Vice-President Michael Curry, both psychology majors. President Erik J. Bitterbaum provided welcoming remarks and Dean of Arts and Sciences R. Bruce Mattingly provided closing remarks. Psychology faculty members David Kilpatrick, Paul Luyben and Jeffery Swartwood attended the event. Many family members and guests also attended.

Posters showing research being done by students and faculty were on display.

Department Chair Judith Ouellette is the faculty advisor to the local chapter. In addition to Luyben and Swartwood, Claire Payne and Teri Wood, secretaries in the Psychology Department, were involved in planning the banquet and induction ceremony. Rhonda Moulton, School of Arts and Sciences, provided music during the reception and banquet.