COVID-19 Safety Information

Non-Traditional Students Inducted into Alpha Sigma Lambda

Seventeen SUNY Cortland students have been elected to membership in Alpha Sigma Lambda, an international honor society recognizing the academic achievements of non-traditional students.

Alpha Sigma Lambda honors the academic achievement of undergraduate students over the age of 24, as well as those who, regardless of age, have dependent children. The SUNY Cortland chapter, Lambda Omicron, has elected 662 members to the honor society since 1999. Due to COVID-19, an induction ceremony and dinner was not held on April 22, as planned.

Alpha Sigma Lambda national standards indicate that students elected to membership are in the top 20 percent of all students at SUNY Cortland age 24 or older who have completed 24 credits of work at SUNY Cortland with a grade point average of 3.2 or better. For the inductees to be in the top 20 percent of students at SUNY Cortland this year, they needed to have a GPA of 3.65 or higher. The GPA range for this group of students inducted was 3.6 to 4.16.

Cheryl Hines serves as chapter councilor and coordinator of student outreach and non-traditional student support, advisement and transition. The students who were elected to membership are:

Gabrielle Baxter

Angela Briggs

William Caston

Taylor Cookston

Christina Daniels

Ivan Goloub

Mark Johnson

Maranda Kinsman

Caroline Klein

Allegra Lambert

Kelly Lanham 

Jamie Meyers

Rayne Perry

Kristina Petrella

Michael Schmidt

Nicole Waterman

Zachary Williams


For more information about Alpha Sigma Lambda, visit