COVID-19 Safety Information

Political Science Honorary Inducts New Members

Fifteen students were formally inducted on May 8 into the SUNY Cortland Zeta Delta chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honors society formed to recognize outstanding achievement in political science.

The inductees were recognized at the chapter’s spring seniors/honors luncheon held at the Lynne Parks ’68 SUNY Cortland Alumni House. They included: Aristotle Z. Arkayasa, Gabrielle N. Bruno, Cassidy R. Carlen, Alexis C. Cino, Ian K. Duquette, Vincent L. Greco, Al Guidone, Marissa Manno, Jessica A. Miranda, Adam M. Palmer, Andrea Paul, Allison R. Phillips, Erika L. Stremick, Alexandra R. Turpin, and Dean R. Wilson.

Membership in Pi Sigma Alpha is open to juniors, seniors and graduate students. Undergraduates must be at least juniors who have completed a minimum of 10 credit hours in political science, including upper-division coursework, with a B or higher grade point average. They must also have achieved an overall GPA placing them in the top one-third of their junior or senior class. They need not be political science majors to qualify for membership.

Distinguished Service Professor Robert Spitzer, chair of the Political Science Department, advises the Zeta Delta chapter. Formed in 1970, Cortland’s chapter was the third to be established among political science departments in the SUNY system.