News Detail

Eighteen students were formally inducted on May 8 into the SUNY Cortland Zeta Delta chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honors society formed to recognize outstanding achievement in political science.

The inductees were recognized at the chapter’s spring seniors/honors luncheon held at the College’s Park Center Alumni House. They included: Cody Amengual, Katherine Avery, Anderson Briggs, Andrew Colvil, Jonathan Delmore, Joshua Figura, David Hewitt, Heather Kafarski, Jessica Mauceri, Cassandra Meyers, Michael Myones, Christopher Napolitano, Peter Rakowsky, Collin Reynolds, Kevin Sheehan, Kayla Sheldrick, Justin St. Lewis and Mackenzie Werenczak.

Membership in Pi Sigma Alpha is open to juniors, seniors and graduate students. Undergraduates must be at least juniors who have completed a minimum of 10 credit hours in political science, including at least upper-division coursework, with a B or higher grade point average. They must also have achieved an overall GPA placing them in the top one-third of their junior or senior class. They need not be political science majors to qualify for membership.

Distinguished Service Professor Robert Spitzer, chair of the Political Science Department, advises the Zeta Delta chapter. Formed in 1970, Cortland’s chapter was one of the first to be established among political science departments in the SUNY system.