COVID-19 Safety Information

New Students Recognized for Successful Transition

Eighty students who successfully made the transition to SUNY Cortland as first-year, transfer, or graduate students during the Fall 2015 or Spring 2016 semesters will be recognized at a reception Wednesday, Sept. 7.

The event takes place during the annual Advisement and Transition Fall Walk-in Welcome to be held from 4 to 6 p.m. in Memorial Library, Room A-111. The individuals will receive a certificate of recognition signed by President Erik J. Bitterbaum.

Students were nominated during the spring 2016 semester by their peers, faculty and staff through an online survey. Of the 80 new students, eleven were recognized by two or more people and the group included two new graduate students and three international students.

This is the third year the College has offered this recognition, which acknowledges students in good academic standing who show one or more of the following qualities:

  • integrity and perseverance in their transition to SUNY Cortland;
  • exemplary academic conduct;
  • characteristics of a good role model for other students;
  • strong participation in classroom discussions;
  • outstanding attendance record;
  • curiosity for academic content;
  • demonstrated effort in academic pursuits; and,
  • potential for campus involvement and leadership.

 All recognized students received an invitation. The students are:

Jocenelle Alcime, Kendra Arcos Pangione, Samantha Baffuto, Joseph Barbaro, Giovanna Barto, Mary Baughman, Alexandra Bradsell, Scott Caracci, Lei Chen, Soimore Cherry, Lucas Christodoulou, Alexandra Cicero, Kathleen Clark, Brianna Clever, Adam Cusner, Jessica Del Bene, Fernando Denis, Eric Deutsch, Megan Dineen, Cody Doane, Rebecca Donovan, Henry Drew, Megan Edwards, Andrew Espey, Peter Esposito, Charles Ryan Flug, Vincent Fortino, Nicholas Galella, Carly Ganz, Heather Garr, Jessica Gibaldi, Jessica Goon, Devon Grady, Taryn Grimes, Derak Heyman, Abby Hume, Thorsten Johnson, Alexis Kane, Thomas Keegan, Nicole LaVancha, Julianne Lovece,  Madison Lyon, Michelle Macalena, Raheemah Madanay, Danielle Maggi, Stephanie Mayer, Katera Destiny McKay, Sara McNamara, Alexis Megliore, Nicole Melo, Carlos Molina, Gustavo Adrian Perez Mendoza, Mame Ndiaye, Alyson Nilsen, Sarah O'Connor, Owen Parseghian, Owen Pearson, Tevin Pham, Richardson Pierre, Taylor Pittelli, Julia Ragaglia, Casey Robibero, Nicole Rodriguez, Nathaniel Rose, Tyrell Ryan, Marissa Schiavone, Cristian Schroder, Tiffany Sobrino, Brian Thornton, Nicolette Torreggiani, Devyn Tremblay, Kendall Ullman, Sara Vero, Alyssa Vidulich, Matthew Watson, Bryant Wentworth, Austin Whitney, Marc Wiesenfeld, Tashe Wright, and Maya Zaynetdinova.

For more information, contact Advisement and Transition by email to