News Detail

Nine students were formally inducted on Dec. 6 into the SUNY Cortland Zeta Delta chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honors society formed to recognize outstanding achievement in political science.

The inductees include John T. Amaruso, Roshell A. Gist, Lesley M. Harlem, Elizabeth M. Lenzi, Besnik Palushi, Alain P. Robert, Lyla K. Shaibi, Matthew Tomasi and Adam J. Willman.

Membership in Pi Sigma Alpha is open to juniors, seniors and graduate students. Undergraduates must be at least juniors who have completed a minimum of 10 credit hours in political science, including at least one upper-division course, with a “B” or higher grade point average (GPA). They must also have achieved an overall GPA placing them in the top one-third of their junior or senior class. They need not be political science majors to qualify for membership.

Political Science Department Chair Robert Spitzer, a SUNY Cortland distinguished service professor, advises the Zeta Delta chapter. Formed in 1970, Cortland’s chapter was the third to be established among political science departments in the SUNY system.