COVID-19 Safety Information

News Detail

Fifty-nine students who successfully made the transition to SUNY Cortland as first-year, transfer, or graduate students during the fall 2016 or spring 2017 semesters will be recognized at a reception Wednesday, Sept. 27.

The event takes place during the annual Advisement and Transition Fall Walk-in Welcome to be held from 4 to 6 p.m. in Memorial Library, Room A-111. The individuals will receive a certificate of recognition signed by President Erik J. Bitterbaum.

Students were nominated during the spring 2017 semester by their peers, faculty and staff through an online survey. Of the 59 new students, four were recognized by two or more people and the group included graduate and international students.

This is the fourth year the College has offered this recognition, which acknowledges students in good academic standing who show one or more of the following qualities:

  • integrity and perseverance in their transition to SUNY Cortland;
  • exemplary academic conduct;
  • characteristics of a good role model for other students;
  • strong participation in classroom discussions;
  • outstanding attendance record;
  • curiosity for academic content;
  • demonstrated effort in academic pursuits; and,
  • potential for campus involvement and leadership.

All recognized students received an invitation. The students are:

Alya Abdelaziz Mostafa Abbas, Gabriella Amelio, Linda Archange, Madeline Berry, Sydney Bourque, Ryan Braund,  Melissa Brunjes, Brianna Cardina, Melissa  Caruana, Amanda Cassata, Allison Chandler, Meghan Dann, Brittany DaRos, Mia Dimartino, Alliyah Dookie, Giorgianna Ervolina, Joesnandy Espino, Joshua Finkelstein, Elizabeth Foster, Jena Freese, Justin Fried, Asha Goldberg, Seth Gosser, Olga Grygiel, Ahmad Sameer Hairan, Allison Hall, Gerald Hmura, Elizabeth Hradil, Weikang Jia, Martin Lavallee, Chad Lawrence, Connor Lewis, David Lindberg, Emma Madonna, Cooper Malanoski, Kayla Mansfield, Joseph Mogavero, Victoria Mooney, Tatiana Nolen, Sean Perichak, Loren Rapaport, Sara Reardon, Jonah Schumacher, Zachary Secor, Georgia Shaw, Jordan Spawn, Kiley Stoj, Nicholas Swaha, Leah Tidd, Jonah Trembley, Kelly Veit, John Velazquez, Connor Vick, Valerie Waters, Julia West, Imaani West, Brooke Wilson and Jun Keat Wong.

For more information, contact Advisement and Transition by email