COVID-19 Safety Information

Bulletin News

Alumnae Women’s Soccer Teams to Be Honored


SUNY Cortland’s women’s soccer teams from the 1980s and 1990s, including a pair of national championship squads, will be honored during the annual C-Club Classic Teams Reunion on Friday, Oct. 19, in the C-Club Hall of Fame Room in the Park Center.

The C-Club Classic Teams Reunion honors noteworthy teams or groups representing SUNY Cortland’s rich history of athletics. Previous honorees have included national title-winning squads as well as combinations of teams coached by legendary Cortland coaches.

Cortland’s women’s soccer teams were among the nation’s best during the decades of the 1980s and 1990s. The Red Dragons won the first-ever collegiate women’s soccer national championship in 1980 with a victory over UCLA and captured the 1992 NCAA Division III title. Cortland also finished second nationally in 1990 and advanced to national semifinals in 1986. In all, Cortland played in 15 national tournaments from 1980-99, including four NCAA Division I playoffs from 1982-85.

Anna Boserup Rush Zado ’57 coached Cortland’s 1980 championship team and Ron Hansen ’78 coached the team in 1981. Chris Malone was the Red Dragons’ head coach from 1982-94 and led the program to 13 straight NCAA tournaments. Janine Caruso Corning ’93 served as head coach from 1995 through 2001 and was also a three-time All-American for the Red Dragons in 1989, 1991 and 1992.

The Classic Teams Reunion is part of the C-Club Hall of Fame Weekend. The C-Club Hall of Fame will induct seven new members on Saturday, Oct. 20.

Previous C-Club Classic Teams Reunions

2011 – Robert H. “Sparky” Wallace ’53 Teams (Baseball, Football, Softball)

2010 – Joan Sitterly Women’s Volleyball Teams (1983-2004)

2009 – Women’s Cross Country NCAA Championship Teams  (1989, 1991-95, 1997)

2008 – 1988 Football Team (10-0 during regular season)

2007 – No event (new C-Club Hall of Fame Wall unveiled)

2006 – “Blue Tunics and White Sneakers” (celebration of Cortland’s Pre-Title IX female athletes)

2005 – No event

2004 – Field Hockey 1993 and 1994 NCAA Div. III Championship Teams

2003 – Eric Malmberg Men’s Gymnastics Teams (including 1986-87-89-90 USGF National Champs)

2002 – Sally Yaeger Wallace ’53 Teams (Softball, Women’s Golf, Women’s Basketball)

2001 – Whitney T. “Pete” Corey ’43 Men’s Basketball Teams (1950-63)

2000 – Women's Soccer 1980 National Championship Team and Men's Soccer 1960 NCAA Team

1999 - Men's Lacrosse 1973 (USILA) and 1975 (NCAA Div. II) Championship Teams