COVID-19 Safety Information

Physical Education Student Teachers Honored

Physical Education Student Teachers Honored


SUNY Cortland recently honored 13 senior physical education majors with the Lenore K. Alway and the Anthony P. Tesori Awards for their outstanding work during their student teaching placements in New York state schools throughout the Fall 2014 semester.

Faculty members of the Physical Education Department selected seven women and six men for the recognition, and the students received certificates.

The Alway Award, given to women, pays tribute to the late Lenore K. Alway, the pioneer head of women’s physical education at the College from 1941 to 1965. The men’s award honors the late Anthony P. Tesori, a 1939 graduate who earned the College’s C-Club Hall of Fame Award for his achievements before and after graduation and gave the College many years of leadership in athletics and administration.

student teacher
A SUNY Cortland physical education major offers encouragement to her two youthful charges.

The Alway Award honorees and the schools where they completed their teaching for Fall 2014 are:

  • Jenifer Aberle of Middle Island, N.Y., at William Floyd Elementary School in Shirley, N.Y., and the Sachem Central School District’s Seneca Middle School in Holbrook, N.Y.
  • Michelle Cushman of Fairport, N.Y., at Listwood Elementary School in Rochester, N.Y., and the Rochester Early College International High School.
  • Mallory Guerin of Port Jefferson, N.Y., at Setauket Elementary School in East Setauket, N.Y., and Longwood High School in Middle Island, N.Y.
  • Ashley Kelly of Rochester, N.Y., at two schools in her city, Clara Barton School No. 2 and Twelve Corner Middle School.
  • Megan Russell of Bath, N.Y., at Campbell-Savona Elementary School in Savona, N.Y., and Corning-Painted Post High School in Corning, N.Y.
  • Danielle Shangold of Holbrook, N.Y., at Northeast Elementary School in Brentwood, N.Y., and Sachem High School North in Lake Ronkonkoma, N.Y.
  • Isabella Zaccagnino of Buffalo, N.Y., at Theodore Roosevelt Elementary School in Buffalo and Transit Middle School in East Amherst, N.Y.

The Tesori Award honorees and the schools where they completed their teaching for fall 2014 are:

  • Maxwell Dineen-Carey of Shrub Oak, N.Y., at Walter Panas High School in Cortlandt Manor, N.Y., and Oakside Elementary School in Peekskill, N.Y.
  • Dillon Giorgis of Avon, Ohio, at William Appleby Elementary School in Marathon, N.Y., and Homer High School in Homer, N.Y.
  • William Maldonado of Mastic Beach, N.Y., at South Middle School in Brentwood, N.Y., and the William Floyd Unified School District’s Tangier Smith Elementary School in Mastic Beach.
  • Kyle McManus of Oakdale, N.Y., at Brookhaven Elementary School in Brookhaven, N.Y., in the South Country Central School District and West Babylon Senior High School in West Babylon, N.Y.
  • Kieran Shaughnessy of Ronkonkoma, N.Y., at Academy Street Elementary School in Bayport, N.Y., and Central Islip Senior High School in Central Islip, N.Y.
  • Daniel Vogl of Buffalo, N.Y., at Public School 80-Highgate Heights Elementary School in Buffalo and Iroquois Middle School in Elma, N.Y.

For more information, contact the Physical Education Department at 607-753-5577.