COVID-19 Safety Information

C-Club Induction Highlights Busy Sports Weekend


A busy sports weekend at SUNY Cortland includes the annual C-Club Hall of Fame induction, a celebration of teams coached by one of college softball’s best and a statewide broadcast of Saturday’s football home opener.

The action starts Friday with special recognition of Red Dragon softball squads coached over the past 20 years by head coach Julie Lenhart. Her teams of the past two decades are the latest to be celebrated with a C-Club Classic Teams Reunion, which honor noteworthy groups from the College’s rich athletics history.

Lenhart has amassed 665 wins at Cortland since 1995, in addition to 120 in five years as head coach at Wisconsin-Platteville. She has led her teams to eight State University of New York Athletic Conference titles and 13 NCAA Div. III tournament appearances, advancing to the NCAA Div. III World Series seven times, including a national runner-up finish in 2013 and a fourth-place finish in 2011.

She will be inducted into the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Hall of Fame in December.

Saturday’s football home opener against Brockport will be televised live through most of Upstate New York on Time Warner Cable Sports Channel (TWCS), with kickoff slated for noon. In many areas, TWCS is available on digital channel 323. In some areas, the game will be broadcast on TWCS2 or TWCS3. Fans are advised to check local Time Warner listings for more details.

Cortland dropped a 51-48 overtime heartbreaker to Buffalo State in its first action of the season Saturday. The Red Dragons will kick off conference action — their final season in the New Jersey Athletic Conference —Saturday, Sept. 27, at Morrisville State.

The 46th annual C-Club Hall of Fame banquet caps Saturday’s festivities with the induction of a seven-member class. This year’s inductees include Ross Phelps ’43, Jack Radzavicz ’59, Gary Wilson ’68, Joan Neuendorf ’83, David Cook ’91, Kiki Seago ’93 and Nate Leaman ’97.

In-depth biographies on the College’s newest C-Club hall of famers are available online.