Distinguished and Award-Winning Faculty and Staff

SUNY Designations

The SUNY Distinguished Faculty rank is a promotion to a prestigious, tenured rank above that of professor. This designation is SUNY's highest tribute.

The Chancellor's Awards for Excellence provide system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. 

Distinguished faculty and SUNY Chancellor's Award Winners are listed in the College catalogs.

Campus Awards

SUNY Cortland is strongly committed to recognizing achievements of its employees. Recognizing accomplishments reflects the institution's values for achievements in teaching, scholarship, research, and service.

Opportunities to Honor Excellence in Teaching, Research and Service

Award categories and descriptions (PDF)

Excellence in Teaching – Tenure Track
Excellence in Teaching – Non-Tenure Track
Rozanne Brooks Dedicated Teacher Award
President's Award for Funded Research
Dr. Peter A. Di Nardo '68 and Judith Waring Outstanding Achievement in Research Award
Honoring Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Outreach
Outstanding Achievement in Faculty Service Award (OASA)
Excellence in Professional Staff Service AwardStudent Affairs Faculty Connection Award
Excellence in Academic Advising
Outstanding Achievement in Mentoring Undergraduate Research

President's Award for Excellence in Classified Service

2017: Michelle Congdon, Human Resources

2016: Dan Dryja, Facilities Operations and Services, Service Group

2015: Jamie Scott, Facilities Operations and Services

2014: Pamela Schroeder, Division of Academic Affairs

2013: Marie Blanden, Division of Student Affairs

2012: Mitchell Seamans, Mail Services/Central Warehouse

2011: Rhonda Moulton, School of Arts and Sciences

2010: Lori Crandall, Childhood/Early Childhood Education Department

2009: Sheila Gregoire, School of Education

2008: Susan Teeter, School of Arts and Sciences