Faculty and Community Scholars program

Visiting Scholars

Anthony Nocella III, 2007-08, 2008-09, working on peace studies

John Finn, 2009-2010, working on environmentalism

Dr. Armando Santa Ana Chavez, 2013-14, 2014-15, working on comparative philosophy and Latin American Studies

Dr. Jane Hall Fitz-Gibbon, 2017-18, 2018-19, as coordinator of the Welcoming Strangers Project, working on nonviolence with children in foster care

Interested in Becoming a Faculty or Community Scholar?

Faculty scholars are SUNY Cortland faculty who work with members of the Philosophy Department in writing in ethics, peace and social justice within their own discipline. Philosophers act as faculty mentors in the research and publication process.

Community scholars are members of the wider Central New York region who are attached to CEPS within the Philosophy Department at SUNY Cortland. They may be activists, artists or academics who share the values and goals of CEPS and who seek support for their endeavors. Contact: Dr. Andrew Fitz-Gibbon.




Director of CEPS:
Andrew Fitz-Gibbon, Ph.D.

Email: fitzgibbon@cortland.edu

Phone: 607-753-2016

Center for Ethics, Peace and Social Justice (CEPS)
Old Main, Room 140
P.O. Box 2000
SUNY Cortland
Cortland, NY, 13045