Advisement and Transition

Advisement and Transition helps you transition to college and guides you through the advisement and registration process at Cortland.  We assist you with planning your courses, choosing a major, navigating College policies and connecting with campus resources.  Our office services include: academic advising; COR 101 seminar course for first-year students; new student orientation; transfer credit services; and student support programming for graduate, non-traditional, and transfer students.  

Connect with us!

Facebook  SUNY Cortland Advisement and Transition

Twitter logo  CortlandAdvise

Starfish Learning Opportunities for Faculty/Staff

This fall, Cortland is launching Starfish as an early alert student outreach and connection tool.  Faculty and staff are invited to hands-on time in a computer lab to learn more about the platform. 

  • Wednesday, Sept. 18, 3 to 4 p.m., Sperry Room 326
  • Monday, Sept. 23, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m., Sperry Room 326
  • Thursday, Sept. 26, 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Sperry Room 103
  • Monday, Sept. 30, 2 to 3 p.m., Sperry Room 103
  • Wednesday, Oct. 2, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.,Sperry Room 103
  • Thursday, Oct. 3, noon to 1 p.m., Sperry Room 103
  • Friday, Oct. 4, 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Sperry Room 103
  • Monday, Oct. 7, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.,Sperry Room 103

Starfish Learning Opportunities for Students

  • Wednesday, Oct. 2, 6 to 7 pm, Corey Union Fireplace Lounge
  • Tuesday, Oct. 8, 4:30 to 5:30 p.m., Sperry Room 104

Advising Reminders  

  • Advisors are available on Wednesdays for brief (10-15 minute) student walk-in advising questions.  Check out our Walk-in Wednesday schedule of topics for the semester! 
  • Faculty Advising Workshop - Advising Nuts and Bolts.  Tuesday, Sept. 24, noon to 1 p.m., Bowers Hall, Room 1114.
  • Tuesday, October 1 is the recommended deadline to receive transcripts to impact time-tickets for spring 2020 registration.   Transfer credit will be posted after October 1, but the credit will not help students receive an earlier registration time-ticket.   

News and Update

  • Non-Traditional Student Events
    • Croissants and Coffee - Thursday, Sept. 19, 9:30 to 11 am., Professional Studies Bldg lobby
    • Breakfast hosted by Non-traditional Student Organization - Tuesday, Oct. 1, 8:30 to 10:30 a.m., Non-trad Lounge
    • Non-Trad Gab - Thursday, Oct. 3, 1:30 to 2:30 p.m., Non-trad Lounge

Advisement and Transition
Memorial Library
Room A-111
advisement@cortland.edu
Phone: 607-753-4726
Fax: 607-753-5593
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Monday-Friday