Spring 2021 Guide and COVID-19 information

Council Membership

The Undergraduate Research Council is made up of appointed members of the campus from all three academic schools.

Council Members

School of Arts and Sciences

Peter Ducey, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

Andrea HarbinAssociate Professor; English Department 

Christopher McRoberts, SUNY Distinguished Professor; Geology Department

Kent Johnson, Assistant Professor; Sociology/Anthropology Department

Sharon Steadman, SUNY Distinguished Professor; Sociology/Anthropology Department (Sabbatical) 

School of Education

Maria Timberlake, Associate Professor; Foundations and Social Advocacy Department

School of Professional Studies

Philip Buckenmeyer, Professor; Kinesiology Department

Jill Murphy, Associate Professor; Health Department


Richard Powell,  Associate Librarian; Memorial Library 


Thomas Frank, Director; Research and Sponsored Programs Office 

Mark Prus, Provost; Academic Affairs

Administrative Support

Mariah Riccardi
Miller Building, Room 206
Phone: 607-753-2511

Important Deadlines

Travel Grant Applications

Fall: Nov. 1, 2019
Spring: March 25, 2020

Student Progress in Undergraduate Research Grant Application

Sept. 27, 2019
Feb.21, 2020
April 3, 2020

Summer Research Fellowship Applications

March 30, 2021

Undergraduate Research Assistant Program

April, 2020 (for 2020-21 Academic Year)