College Names Leadership in Civic Engagement Honorees

Twenty-five SUNY Cortland students, three community members, five faculty members and 35 AmeriCorps members were recognized on April 19 with the College’s Leadership in Civic Engagement Awards.

The awards recognize exemplary service in support of community agencies, social change and civic engagement by SUNY Cortland students, alumni, faculty, staff and community members.

The recipients of seven civic engagement scholarships were awarded to Jessica Andrianos, Julie Gorman, Megan Flynn, Lynne Harris, Kristen Martin, Kara Silverman and Scott Stampfl.

The SUNY Cortland Emergency Medical Services received the Don Wilcox Award and Andrianos was recognized with the Cortland Area Chapter of the Alumni Association’s Community Service Award.

Award winners were selected by the Leadership in Civic Engagement Awards Committee, whose members are from campus departments and offices involved in opportunities for service activities with local, regional and national organizations, including the Institute for Civic Engagement and the Career Services Office. Also seated on the committee are a student, a community agency supervisor and an AmeriCorps member.

Student recipients were involved with a wide variety of activities, including leadership roles in the SUNY Cortland Relay for Life, tutoring and mentoring programs, reduction of bullying, economic development, literacy, health and wellness programming, hunger awareness, environmental protection and disaster relief. The vast majority of activity supports Cortland County residents, the public school system and numerous human service organizations.

Student recipients were:

Jessica Andrianos

Allison Best

Samantha Califano

Jasmine Chandoo

Megan Flynn

Austin Glickman

Julie Gorman

Matthew Green

Jennifer Hale

Lynne Harris

Matthew Hayes

Ashley Hunter

Brianna Kezner

Francesca Lansburg

Kristen Martin

Jamie Piperato

Violeta Rivera

Becky Schwartzman

Alycia Sciascia

Ashley Seeger

Kara Silverman

Scott Stampfl

Corinne Valenti

Claire Wickersham

Megan Wise



Marie Agen

Vicki Johnson

Noelle Chaddock Paley

Ute Ritz-Deutch

Lori Schlicht


Community Partners

Aaron Baier

Kim Mullins

Mary Jane Uttech


Student Groups

Etta Sigma Gamma Health Honorary

SUNY Cortland Emergency Medical Services


SUNY Cortland’s AmeriCorps Members for 2011-12

Joyce Allen

Alex Aloi

Pierre Barosy

Jason Benza

Paloma Bido

Kathleen Burns

Rebekah Caforio

Adam Campbell

Jermaine Campbell

James Cantatore

Joanna Cimini

Christina DeCorse

Karli DeGraw

Alexis Fairbanks

Lori Forshee

Janeille Frazenburg

Nicholas Gaynor

Cassidy Harahan

Michelle McGovern

Deanna Moore

Chelsea Murray

Rayne Perry

Nicole Petit

Jordan Ramos

Sarah Redfield

Ilianatacha Rosa

Amy Riotto

Theresa Ruswick

Matthew Santorufo

Kat Stevens

Caitlin Sullivan

Sara Watrous

Jenna Wegzyn

MaryJane Wood

Samuel VanBuskirk