Tobacco Advisory Committee Seeks Campus Input

Out of respect for people and the environment, SUNY Cortland has made a commitment to look at ways to reduce tobacco use on campus by forming a Tobacco Advisory Committee. 

Formerly known as the ad hoc SUNY Cortland Tobacco Advisory Coalition, the new committee was recognized by President Erik J. Bitterbaum and is co-chaired by Devin Coppola, Student Health Service, and Cathy Smith, Health Promotion Office. The committee includes more than 30 members representing faculty, staff and students as well as members of the surrounding community. 

Committee members are seeking input from the campus community at two information sessions planned for Tuesday, March 29, and Tuesday, April 26. Faculty, staff and students interested in discussing the topic are invited to attend either session, which will be held from 1:30-2:30 p.m. in Corey Union, Rooms 305-306. The monthly Tobacco Advisory Committee meetings will follow.

“Well-being is a priority in SUNY Cortland’s strategic plan for 2010-20,” said Coppola. “The College is striving to ‘become a national leader in the promotion of the physical, emotional, cultural and social well-being of all community members.’ Tobacco use is incompatible with the College culture of well-being.” 

The committee’s charges from the president are:

• to continue to explore ways to encourage smoking cessation at SUNY Cortland;

• to develop a graduated plan for the College to become a Tobacco-Free campus;

• to involve the unions and smokers and non-smokers in the process; and,

• to educate the entire campus community about the process and the rationale for this initiative.

For more information, contact Smith by e-mail or phone at (607) 753-2066, or Coppola by e-mail or phone at (607) 753-4811.