Political Science Honorary Inducts New Members

The Cortland Zeta Delta chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honors society formed to recognize outstanding achievement in political science, formally inducted 14 students in a Dec. 8 ceremony.

The inductees are: Justin T. Atkinson, Erin E. Bourgeois, Chelsey O. Chavez-Egan, Amanda L. Ephraim, Marc E. Favro, Lucas Finley, Angela M. Fortunato, Loraine C. Jelinek, Blaithin S. Loughran, Michael K. McNulty, Emily G. Riordan, Douglas Scott, Tatyana N. Walker and Nathan C. Woodard.

Membership in Pi Sigma Alpha is open to juniors, seniors and graduate students enrolled at institutions where chapters are located. Undergraduates must be at least juniors who have completed a minimum of 10 credit hours in political science, including at least one upper-division course, with a B or higher average grade. They must also have achieved an overall GPA placing them in the top one-third of their junior or senior class. They need not be political science majors to qualify for membership.

Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science Robert Spitzer advises the Zeta Delta chapter. Formed in 1970, Cortland’s chapter was the third to be established among political science departments in the SUNY system.