COVID-19 Safety Information

2025-2026 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2025

Official Term Dates: August 25 to December 12

President’s Opening Address and Faculty Meetings Thursday, Aug. 21
Academic Convocation Sunday, Aug. 24
Classes Begin Monday, Aug. 25
Labor Day (No Classes in Session) Monday, Sep. 1

Fall Break Begins (8 a.m.)

Monday, Oct. 6

Classes Resume (8 a.m.)

Wednesday, Oct. 8
First-Quarter Classes end Friday, Oct. 10
October Open House Monday, Oct. 13
Second-Quarter Classes Begin Monday, Oct. 13
November Open House Tuesday, Nov. 11
Last Day for In-Class Examinations  Tuesday, Nov. 25
*Thanksgiving Break Begins (8 a.m.) Wednesday, Nov. 26
Classes Resume (8 a.m.) Monday, Dec. 1
Classes End Friday, Dec. 5
Final Examination Period Monday, Dec. 8 to Friday, Dec. 12

Spring Semester 2026

Official Term Dates: January 26 to May 15

President’s State of the University Address and Faculty Meetings Thursday, Jan. 22
Classes Begin Monday, Jan. 26
Third-Quarter Classes end Friday, Mar. 13
Spring Break Monday, Mar. 16 to Friday, Mar. 20
Classes Resume (8 a.m.) Monday, Mar. 23
Fourth Quarter Classes Begin Monday, Mar. 23
Spring Open House Saturday, Apr. 11
Honors Convocation Saturday, Apr. 18
Last Day for In-Class Examinations * Friday, May 1
Classes End Friday, May 8
Final Examination Period Monday, May 11 to Friday, May 15
Graduate Commencement Friday, May 15
Undergraduate Commencement Saturday, May 16

Semester start dates are guided by Labor Day and Martin Luther King, Jr. Day respectively. Please review the Summer and Winter Session website for Summer and Winter term dates.

*Final Exam Policy: No examinations or quizzes may be given the five class days preceding the final exam period without the approval of the dean.

Religious Holidays: Students who miss classes, exams, or work requirements because of religious beliefs shall be excused and will be provided with opportunities to make up exams or work missed because of the absence. This does not prohibit faculty from giving assignments/exams on a given day. The purpose is to allow individual students alternatives based on religious practice when they make a request. Please refer to the holiday schedule for details and dates. Please refer to the SUNY Cortland Religious Holidays and Observances schedule for details and dates.