Student Government Association

The Student Government Association acts as the voice of the student body here at SUNY Cortland. Its dedicated staff and elected officers act as liaisons to the administration in order to address student concerns. The SGA Executive Board consists of nine students; three of which are elected by the student body in April and the remaining six who are appointed by the elected officers shortly after. The SGA Executive Board utilizes the Student Senate to solicit campus issues. The primary duty of these student leaders is to persistently work on improving the SUNY Cortland campus.

SGA funding comes from the Mandatory Activity Fee (MAF). Each student pays the MAF, which is $110 every semester. This allows Student Government to fund over 73 clubs and organizations which exist to educate and create programming to enhance the campus community. The SGA funds scholarships, recreational sports, NYPIRG, ASAP Tutoring, Cortland Connect and student advocacy efforts. Every year the SGA Executive Board also sponsors several events that are open to all students, faculty, staff and community members. For more information please stop by the SGA office or send us an email at .

2016 2017 SGA Newsletter


  • To work effectively as a group in decision making and problem solving.
  • To strengthen relationships with other offices and departments on campus.
  • To get students more involved in the Student Government Association and the campus community as a whole.
  • To increase programming to encourage students to join clubs/organizations and/or participate in campus activities to create an awesome educational and social college experience.
  • To increase community involvement.
  • To research other Student Governments to help us to continue to evolve.

Officers 2016-2017

President: Michael Braun
Vice President: Keara Lowenhar
Treasurer: Justin Wade
Vice Treasurer: Benny Bermudez-Garcia
Executive Assistant to the President: Alexandra "Abby" Papakonstantis
Executive Assistant to the Vice President: Tara Farley
Public Relations: Jessica Haverlin
Parliamentarian: Aristotle Arkayasa
Secretary: Gloria Hulede
SGA Office Coordinator: Amy J. Riotto

Contact Us

Student Government Association
Corey Union, Room 217
Phone: 607-753-4816
Fax: 607-753-2807