Faculty and Staff Activities - SUNY Cortland

Faculty and Staff Activities

Nance S. Wilson

Nance S. Wilson, Literacy Department, co-authored two articles published recently in publications about children’s literature. “Beyond The Lorax: Examining Children’s Books on Climate Change” was published in The Reading Teacher69. “The Who I Was, Who I Am, and Who I Want to Be Cycle” was published in Frontiers in American Children’s Literature, edited by D.G. Clark and L. Salem.

Tadayuki Suzuki

Tadayuki Suzuki, Literacy Department, had his article, “Wandering the Web - Exploring Information of Japanese Americans’ Experiences in Internment Camps During World War II,” published in the journal Against the Grain, 28.

Mechthild Nagel

Mechthild Nagel, Philosophy Department and the Center for Gender and Intercultural Studies (CGIS), delivered a keynote on gender and the law at The Gender Construction of Society Conference held in April at Cantemir University, Bucharest, Romania. It will be published in a special issue of Journal of Research in Gender Studies in 2017.

John Suarez

John Suarez, Institute for Civic Engagement’s Office of Service-Learning, has been invited to conduct a Reflective Listening Workshop in January 2017 for employees of the MacCormick Secure Center in Brooktondale, N.Y. The Center is part of the Division of Juvenile Justice and Opportunities for Youth, of the New York State Office of Children and Family Services.

Li Jin

Li Jin, Geology Department, co-authored a paper titled “Chloride sources in urban and rural headwater catchments, central New York” with Kristina Gutchess ’13, lead author, who is now a Ph.D. student at Syracuse University. The article will appear in the journal Science of the Total Environment.

Laura Davies

Laura Davies, English Department, had her essay, “Popcorn and Peter Elbow: Ways to Help Your Kids with Their Writing,” published by NCTE’s Commission for Writing Teacher Education’s blog, viewable on this link.

Robert Spitzer

Robert Spitzer, Political Science Department, is the author of a chapter on the presidency of John Tyler for a new book, The Presidents and the Constitution, published by New York University Press. The book is edited by Ken Gormley, president of Duquesne University.

John Suarez

John Suarez, Institute for Civic Engagement’s Office of Service-Learning, has secured a $500 New York Campus Compact grant for a roundtable discussion that will focus on economic mobility in Cortland County. Broome Community College’s Civic Engagement Center will help guide the planning and execution of this event’s deliberative discussion format. The discussion, scheduled for Wednesday, Sept. 21, is part of the greater Cortland community’s economic Inequality Initiative.

Tiantian Zheng

Tiantian Zheng, Sociology/Anthropology Department, was invited by Chinese University of Hong Kong and University of Hong Kong to deliver three campus-wide talks on April 25 and 26 on her books Tongzhi Living: Men Attracted to Men in Postsocialist China, published in 2015, and Ethical Research with Sex Workers: Anthropological Approaches, published in 2013.

Deborah Matheron

Deborah Matheron, Communication Disorders and Sciences Department, was an invited speaker at the 56th annual New York State Speech-Language Pathology Convention on April 9 in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. The two-hour talk was titled “Speech Breathing and Laryngeal Function in Individuals with PD and Individuals With MS: Underlying Physiology and Current Research.”