Bookmark and Share

College Writing Committee

The College Writing Committee is a provost-appointed committee charged with overseeing the College's Writing Program. The structure of the College Writing Committee includes representation from the College's three schools, the Administration, the Composition Program, the English Department, and the Academic Support and Achievement Program. The Campus Writing Coordinator is a permanent member and the committee chair.

The College Writing Committee Oversees 

  • the writing-intensive course requirement
  • the annual college writing contest
  • faculty development workshops
  • book chats
  • readings by faculty writers
  • occasional writing summits
  • the Writing Fellows Program
  • Seven Valleys Writing Project/National Writing Project
  • the Learning Commons Writing Center
  • online writing tutoring, with ASAP

Committee Members

Brian Barrett
Associate Professor
Foundations and Social Advocacy (Special Education and Urban Education) 
Cornish Hall, Room 1224
Phone: 753-2330    
brian.barrett@cortland.edu 

Cynthia Benton
Professor
Childhood/Early Childhood Education
Cornish Hall, Room 1207
Phone: 753-4631
cynthia.benton@cortland.edu

Sarah Beshers
Associate Professor
Health
Moffett Center, Room 108 
Phone: 753-2985 
besherss@cortland.edu

Victoria Boynton
Associate Professor
Professional Writing
Old Main, Room 113C
Phone: 753-2082
victoria.boyton@cortland.edu

Laura Davies, Chair
Assistant Professor
Director of Campus Writing Programs
English
Old Main, Room 113-D
Phone: 753-2074
laura.davies@cortland.edu

Jennifer Drake
Academic Tutor
Academic Support and Achievement Program
Van Hoesen Hall, Room B-205
Phone: 753-2361
jennifer.drake@cortland.edu

 
David Franke
Associate Professor
English and Professional Writing
Old Main, Room 117-E 
Phone: 753-5945 
dtfranke@cortland.edu
 

Lauren Stern
Instructional Services Librarian
Memorial Library, B-208
752-2288
lauren.stern@cortland.edu

 
Judith Vanbuskirk
Associate Professor
History
Old Main, 210_E
753-2057
judith.vanbuskirk@cortland.edu

Carol Van Der Karr
Associate Provost 
Academic Affairs
Miller Building, Room 404
Phone: 753-2206
carol.vanderkarr@cortland.edu

Brent Thomas Wilson
Assistant Professor
Communication Disorders and Sciences
McDonald Building, Room 209
Phone: 758-5033 
brent.wilson@cortland.edu