Bookmark and Share

College Writing Committee

The College Writing Committee is a provost-appointed committee charged with overseeing the College's Writing Program. The structure of the College Writing Committee includes representation from the College's three schools, the Administration, the Composition Program, the English Department, and the Academic Support and Achievement Program. The Campus Writing Coordinator is a permanent member and the committee chair.

The College Writing Committee Oversees 

  • the writing-intensive course requirement
  • the annual college writing contest
  • faculty development workshops
  • book chats
  • readings by faculty writers
  • occasional writing summits
  • the Writing Fellows Program
  • Seven Valleys Writing Project/National Writing Project
  • the Learning Commons Writing Center
  • online writing tutoring, with ASAP

Committee Members

Sarah Beshers
Associate Professor
Health
Moffett Center, Room 108
Phone: 753-2985
besherss@cortland.edu
Victoria Boynton
Associate Professor
Professional Writing
Old Main, Room 113C
Phone: 753-2082
victoria.boyton@cortland.edu
David Franke
Associate Professor
English and Professional Writing
Old Main, Room 117-E
Phone: 753-5945
dtfranke@cortland.edu

Mary Lynch Kennedy, Chair
Distinguished Teaching Professor
English
Old Main, Room 115-B
Phone: 753-2086
kennedym@cortland.edu

Jennifer Drake
Academic Tutor
Academic Support and Achievement Program
Van Hoesen Hall, Room B-205
Phone: 753-2361
jennifer.drake@cortland.edu

Andrea LaChance
Associate Professor and Chair
Childhood/Early Childhood Education
Van Hoesen Hall, Room B-121
Phone: 753-5528
lachance@cortland.edu

 
Linda Lavine
Associate Professor Psychology
Old Main, Room 131
Phone: 753-2040
lavinel@cortland.edu
 

Gigi Peterson
Assistant Professor/Coordinator, Adolescence Education: Social Studies
History
Old Main, Room 212-C
Phone: 753-2061
gigi.peterson@cortland.edu

 
Carol Van Der Karr
Interim Associate Provost
Curriculum and Academic Achievement
Miller Building, Room 404
Phone: 753-2206
carol.vanderkarr@cortland.edu

Brent Thomas Wilson
Assistant Professor
Communication Disorders and Sciences
McDonald Building, Room 209
Phone: 758-5033
brent.wilson@cortland.edu

Brian Barrett
Assistant Professor
Foundations and Social Advocacy Department (Special Education and Urban Education) 
Cornish Hall, Room 1224
Phone: 753-2330    
brian.barrett@cortland.edu