Bookmark and Share

edTPA Information

School of Education

What is edTPA?
 

"edTPA is a preservice assessment process designed by educators to answer the essential question: 'Is a new teacher ready for the job?' edTPA includes a review of a teacher candidate's authentic teaching materials as the culmination of a teaching and learning process that documents and demonstrates each candidate's ability to effectively teach his/her subject matter to all students" (ACCTE, 2013, p. 1).

edTPA for New York State
 

Candidates applying for initial certification in New York on or after May 1, 2014, will be required to take and pass the edTPA.

"edTPA is a student-centered multiple measure assessment of teaching. It is designed to be educative and predicting of effective teaching and student learning. Stanford University faculty and staff at Stanford Center for Assessment, Learning, and Equity (SCALE) developed edTPA. They received substantive advice and feedback from teachers and teacher educators" (NYSCTE, 2013, p.1).

edTPA at SUNY Cortland
 

The edTPA subject assessments at SUNY Cortland are offered in connection to all initial teacher certification programs at SUNY Cortland at the Graduate and Undergraduate levels. The current edTPA areas at SUNY Cortland are:

  • Early Childhood Education
  • Elementary Education (Childhood 1-6)
  • English as an Additional Language
  • K-12 Health Education
  • Secondary (English Language Arts, Mathematics, History/Social Studies, and Science)
  • K-12 Physical Education
  • Special Education
  • World Languages

edTPA Support Team at SUNY Cortland
 

Supporting candidates continued development toward effective teaching is a priority within all teacher education programs at SUNY Cortland. The SUNY Cortland education community understands that the edTPA has been created to "help teacher candidates develop confidence and skills they need to be successfull in urban, suburban, and rural schools" (About edTPA Outcomes, 2013, p. 1), an established goal at SUNY Cortland.

The edTPA has also been designed to stregthen beginning teachers' understandings of planning, instruction, and assesment. in support of the edTPA process an edTPA SUNY Cortland Advisement Team has been appointed to help engage in continued dialogues with faculty, supervisors, and teacher candidates toward effective practice of the edTPA in our teacher education programs.

edTPA Team

Coordinators:

  • Dr. Andrea Lachance, Dean of School of Education, andrea.lachance@cortland.edu  
  • Dr. Chris Widdall, Instructor Childhood/Early Childhood Department, chris.widdall@cortland.edu
  • Mr. Dennis Farnsworth, Teacher Education Coordinator, dennis.farnsworth@cortland.edu

edTPA Advisors: 

  • Dr. Matthew Madden, Professor Physical Education Department, matthew.madden@cortland.edu (Lead Advisor for the School of Professional Studies. 
  • Ms. Valerie Behr, Lecture I Childhood/Early Childhood Department, valerie.behr@cortland.edu (Lead Advisor for the School of Arts and Sciences).
  • Ms. Kimberly Kennedy, Adjunct Instructor Childhood/Early Childhood Department, kimberly.kennedy@cortland.edu, (Lead Advisor for the School of Education). 

 

  

edTPA Support Links

Free Resources and Materials: edTPA.AACTE.org

Registration, Submission, and Scoring Information: edTPA.com

New York State Teacher Certification: edTPA for New York State

Resources for SUNY Cortland Users: edTPA at SUNY Cortland

Integrated Submission Platform: Taskstream