Bookmark and Share

2016-2017 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2016

President’s Opening Address and faculty meetings

Thursday. Aug. 25

New student orientation and registration

Friday, Aug. 26

Academic Convocation

Sunday, Aug. 28

All classes begin

Monday, Aug. 29

Labor Day (no classes in session)

Monday, Sept. 5

First-Quarter Student Teaching begins

Tuesday, Sept. 6

*Rosh Hashanah

Monday, Oct. 3

October Open House

Monday, Oct. 10

*Yom Kippur

Wednesday, Oct. 12

First Quarter Classes end

Friday, Oct. 14

Fall Break begins – 8 a.m.

Monday, Oct. 17 & Tuesday Oct. 18

Classes resume 8 a.m. and Second Quarter begins

Wednesday, Oct. 19

First-Quarter Student Teaching ends

Friday, Oct. 21

Second-Quarter Student Teaching begins

Monday, Oct. 24

November Open House

Friday, Nov. 11

Thanksgiving Break begins – 8 a.m.

Wednesday, Nov. 23

Classes resume – 8 a.m.

Monday, Nov. 28

**Last day for in-class examinations

Friday, Dec. 2

All classes end

 Friday, Dec. 9

Study Days

Saturday & Sunday, Dec. 10 & 11

Final Examination Period

Monday, Dec. 12 through Friday, Dec. 16

Second-Quarter Student Teaching ends

Thursday, Dec. 2

Winter Session 2017

All classes begin

Wednesday, Jan. 4

Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (No winter classes in session)

Monday, Jan. 16

All classes end

Wednesday, Jan. 18

Spring Semester 2017

Third-Quarter Student Teaching begins

Tuesday, Jan. 17

President’s State of the College Address and Faculty Meetings

Thursday, Jan. 19

New student orientation and registration

Friday, Jan. 20

All classes begin

Monday, Jan. 23

Third-Quarter Classes end/Third-Quarter Student Teaching ends

Friday, Mar. 10

Fourth-Quarter Student Teaching begins 

Monday, Mar. 13

Spring Break

Monday, Mar. 13 through Friday, Mar. 17

Classes resume and Fourth Quarter begins – 8 a.m. 

Monday,  Mar. 20

Spring Open House

Saturday, Apr. 1

*Passover

Tuesday, Apr. 11

*Good Friday

Friday, Apr. 14

Easter

Sunday, Apr. 16

Transformations: A Student Research and Creativity Conference (classes in session)

Wednesday, Apr. 19

Honors Convocation

Saturday, Apr. 22

**Last day for in-class examinations

Friday, Apr. 28

All classes end

Friday, May 5

Study Days

Saturday & Sunday, May 6 & 7

Fourth-Quarter Student Teaching ends

Wednesday, May 10

Final Examination Period

Monday, May 8 through Friday, May 12

Graduate Commencement

Friday, May 12

Undergraduate Commencement

Saturday, May 13

* No examinations or quizzes may be given during the period designated for observance of  religious holidays. Observance of Jewish holidays will begin and 4 p.m. the day before the holiday and end at 7 p.m. the day of the holiday. Observance of Good Friday will begin at noon and end at 3 p.m.

**No examination or quizzes may be given the five class days preceding the final exam period without the approval of the school dean.