Bookmark and Share

Unity Celebration


2012-2013 Award Recipients

Unity Award

The Unity Award was established in 2010 by then Interm Director of Multicultural Life Noelle Chaddock Paley and co-sponsor Affirmative Action Officer Wendy McAllister. The intention of the award was to recognize people in the SUNY Cortland community who were working toward equity and inclusion. The recipients are individuals that advocate for diversity and social change for all students, faculty and staff regardless of their socio-racial locations and identities. These are selfless people who go above and beyond to make SUNY Cortland a welcoming, inclusive, and safe place for all community members. We thank them for their dedication and commitment to making SUNY Cortland a better place.

2012-2013 Unity Award Recipients

SGA President Leigh Marie Weber
Neeca Root
Lyndon Huling
Katherine Polasek

2010-2011 Unity Award Recipients

Professor Regina Grantham
Dr. Kate Coffey
SGA President Elect Jamie Piperato
Mr. Steve Canals 

2009-2010 Unity Award Recipients

Dr. Samuel Kelley
Ms. Ann Cutler
Ms. Lori Schlicht
Ms. Lauren Ortiz

The annual Unity Celebration is intended to bring the campus community together to celebrate diversity, equity, inclusion, and solidarity. The celebration is planned for Tuesday, October 15, at 5 p.m. in the Corey Union Function Room.  All are invited to attend.

At this event, we plan to recognize campus community members who have worked to promote social justice, fight inequity and oppression, and ensure that SUNY Cortland is a community where all are welcomed and valued.  Please help us identify members of our community who assist in bringing unity to our campus. 

To nominate faculty, staff, students, alumni, or community members you admire for their ability to make our campus a place where all feel welcomed and valued, please fill out the information below and submit no later than Friday, September 27, at 4:00 p.m.

Please login to submit a Unity Celebration.