## 150.03 ARTICLE VI: FACULTY SENATE

Section A.

The Faculty Senate of the SUNY Cortland faculty shall be composed of:

- 1. The four officers of the faculty.
- 2. Seven elected representatives from the School of Arts and Sciences, elected by the voting members in each area:
  - a. One elected representative from the mathematics and science division (departments of mathematics, biological sciences, chemistry, geology, and physics),
  - b. One elected representative from the social and behavioral sciences division (departments of economics, geography, history, political science, psychology, and sociology/anthropology),
  - c. One elected representative from the fine arts and humanities division (departments of art and art history, communication studies, English, international communications and culture, performing arts, and philosophy),
  - d. Four elected at-large representatives from the School of Arts and Sciences, whose terms shall be staggered with those of the three division representatives.
- 3. Four elected at-large representatives from the School of Professional Studies, elected by and from the departments of communication disorders and sciences, health, kinesiology, physical education, recreation, parks and leisure studies and sport management.
- 4. Three elected at-large representatives from the School of Education, elected by and from the departments of childhood/early childhood education, educational leadership, foundations and social advocacy, and literacy.
  - (Approved by President Bitterbaum January 2004)
- 5. Two elected representatives for full-time lecturers: one to be elected at large from full-time lecturers in the School of Arts and Sciences, and one to be elected at large from full-time lecturers in the schools of Professional Studies and Education combined.

  (Approved by President Bitterbaum, June 2009)
- 6. Four elected at-large representatives from the professional staff, elected by and from the voting members in this area.
- 7. One elected representative from the library, elected by and from the voting members in this area.
- 8. One elected representative from the management/confidential area, elected by and from the voting members in this area.
- 9. The elected faculty representative to the State University Senate (see 110.04 for information on the alternate).
- 10. Three members of the student body, elected under procedures determined by the Student Senate.
- 11. The elected representative of the classified staff, elected under procedures determined by members of the classified staff.
- 12. The elected representative of the graduate faculty, elected under procedures determined by members of the graduate faculty.
- 13. The elected representative of the part-time faculty, elected under procedures determined by members of the part-time faculty.
- 14. Each chair of a policy committee, or a designated representative.
- 15. The provost and vice president for academic affairs, ex officio without vote unless this person is the elected representative of management/confidential.
- 16. The vice president for student affairs, ex officio without vote unless this person is the elected representative of management/confidential.
- 17. The vice president for finance and management, ex officio without vote unless this person is the elected representative of management/confidential.
- 18. The vice president for institutional advancement, ex officio without vote unless this person is the elected representative of management/confidential.
- 19. The president of the College, ex officio without vote.
- 20. The parliamentarian of the faculty, ex officio without vote. (Approved by President Bitterbaum May 2004.)