SUNY Cortland Recreation Association

SCRA is Cortland's recreation major's club. It is open to all SUNY Cortland fee-paying students. The student-run club provides members and participants with opportunities to socialize, exchange ideas and experiences, give service to the community, and expand educational opportunities. 

Officers for SCRA 2012-2013

  • President: Robyn Perez
  • Vice President: Jessica Andrianos
  • Secretary: Natasha Roseboom
  • Treasurer: Matthew Fregly
  • Public Relations: Brian Skeats
  • Program Coordinators: Anthony Maggio and Ariene Balbach
  • SGA Representative: Emily Hunt

Co-Advisors: Dr. Brooke Burk and Dr. Amy Shellman

Activities of SCRA:
Professional development workshops, social activities, outdoor adventure trips, Fall Banquet, Spring Awards Banquet, travel to conferences, and much more. SCRA meets every Monday from 3-4 p.m. in Room 2123 Professional Studies Building.  Please email with any questions regarding SCRA.

 SCRA River Cleanup 2010


What is Rho Phi Lambda?

Rho Phi Lambda is the national honorary fraternity for Recreation, Parks, and Leisure Services. The SUNY Cortland Chapter is Alpha Eta. To achieve the honor of membership in Rho Phi Lambda, a student must show evidence of academic excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service to campus or community. They must be in the upper 15% of their class and have a minimum GPA of 3.2 in professional courses.

Visit the national Rho Phi Lamda website to learn more.

2012 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda:

Ariene Balbach, Raena Blumenthal, May Faulk, Karsyn Lieber, Tyler Merriam, Kevin Morris, Robyn Perez, Kelsey Persons, Clara Pittleman, Nicholas Prechel, Natasha Roseboom

2011 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda:

Ben Banker, Whitney Battin, Angelique Bovee, Amber Busby-Luettger, Melanie Canna, Emily Cosnett, Josh Fonner, Maria Hart, Sarah Heil, Jenna Holden, Cameron Johnson, Devon Keir, Mitch Lemery, Jennifer Miller, Deanna Moore, Jason Page, Jennifer Page, Charles Rhode, Wendy Richards, Veronica Ripp, Brigitta Roser, Ashley Sherlock, Chelsea Smith, Amanda Speziale, Jennifer Stark, Elizabeth Vehring

2010 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda:

Emily Balles, Lauren Blackburn, David Burnette, Greg Kroohs, Sarah Wryk, Hobit Lafay, Amanda Lengauer, Amanda Perl, Lisa Spadafore

2009 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda:

Eugene Borzendowski, Lindsey Brown, Katherine Conant, Jon Cooney, Brandi Crowe, Stefanie Higgins, Kristiana Kalb, Andra Smith, Dan Sullivan, Josh Teeter

2008 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda:

Michael Anderson, Jacqueline Johnston, Timothy Rodriguez, Orion Roeder, Richard "Ben" Rowell, Katie Sutliff, Lin Zhang

2007 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda:

Josh Bochnicak, Kara Carrino, Donna Dvoracek, Katie Elliot, Ben Hale

2006 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda:

Jessica Anderson, Brandy Boden, Joseph Carlson, Patricia Cole, Jennifer Gilmartin, David Hamilton, Kristen Lamphear, Lori Pilosi, Anne Scharmberg, Katherine Sclafani, Sarah Unruh

2005 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda

Beth Bojarski, Elizabeth Coveney, Jessica Krueger, Shana Palmer

2004 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda

Walt Anderson, Dyanna Baker, Kari Benson, Emily Rau, Samuel Rose, Sarah Schieber, Margery Storey, Jennifer Tynan, Lyndsey Wilcox