Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta is the National History Honor Society. The society describes their mission as the promotion of "the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians." The Society seeks "to bring students and teachers together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways."

Every year, SUNY Cortland's History Department inducts top students into the Nu Omicron Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta. Inductees must complete a minimum of 12 semester hours (4 courses) in History achieve a minimum GPA of 3.1 in History and a GPA of 3.0 or better overall. Eligible candidates must also be in the top 35% of their class. Students enrolled in an online program are not eligible.

Students inducted into Phi Alpha Theta at the Spring 2014 Awards Ceremony included:

Anthony Allocco

Veronica Bilenkin

James M. Cherry

Leo Daunt

Nathaniel Davidson

Ian Donaghue

Haley Georgia

Kevin Gross

Molly McCarthy

Christopher W. Michaels

Daniel Neilis

Michael Pallassino

Derrick W. Pratt

Jordan Prignon

Margaret Romanowski

Azuredee A. Secrest

Megan Sloan

John Swayne