Bookmark and Share

Performing Arts Schedule Includes Concerts, Plays and Recitals

09/09/2010 

The Performing Arts Department has announced its 2010-11 season of music, theatre and dance events at the Dowd Fine Arts Center. A variety of programs are planned, ranging from a Greek tragedy to a musical comedy.

All events take place in the Dowd Fine Arts Theatre unless otherwise noted. Music events are free and tickets for the musicals, play and ballet will be on sale at Jodi’s Hallmark Shop one month before opening night. These events are partially funded by The Cortland Fund and the Cortland College Foundation. For more information, visit the department website

The season starts with Cole Porter’s beloved musical “Kiss Me, Kate,” which plays for six performances from Friday, Oct. 22, through Sunday, Oct. 31. This Broadway favorite about the backstage and onstage doings of a theatre troupe performing “The Taming of the Shrew” boasts Porter’s greatest score. The production, directed and choreographed by Kevin Halpin, will be performed at 8 p.m. on Fridays and Saturdays, Oct. 22, 23, 29 and 30, and at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Oct. 24 and 31.

The College-Community Orchestra concert at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 16, will offer classical orchestral music. The conductor is Ubaldo Valli and the ensemble consists of both college and community musicians.

A series of music concerts begins with the College Singers at 8 p.m. on Thursday, Nov. 18. The program will feature songs from Broadway musicals.

Classical choral music is featured in the Choral Union concert at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 30.

Stephen Wilson will direct the ever-popular annual holiday concert at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 7, featuring choral and gospel music and a seasonal sing-along.

Tchaikovski’s “The Nutcracker Ballet” will be presented by the Performing Arts Department in conjunction with the Performing Arts Institute at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 11, and at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 12. This holiday favorite will be presented in its full version and will feature students from the college and the community.

A faculty recital by pianist Edward Moore will usher in 2011 with a concert at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 8.

The recent Broadway hit, “The Drowsy Chaperone,” a delightful spoof of 1920s musical comedies, will be presented as the spring musical. Halpin directs and choreographs. Performances are scheduled for 8 p.m. on Friday and Saturday, March 25-26; April 1-2; and at 2 p.m. on Sunday, March 27, and April 3.

The College-Community Orchestra will offer its spring concert at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, April 12.

The College Singers concert will be performed at 8 p.m. on Thursday, April 14.
“Oedipus Back to Back” will be performed in the Lab Theatre at 8 p.m. Thursday, May 5, through Saturday, May 7, and at 2 p.m. on Sunday, May 8. Thomas Hischak directs the Sophocles’ tragedy “Oedipus the King” then offers the Marx Brothers’ farce “Cocoanut Soup at the Palace,” in which the zany brothers do their own farcical version of the ancient Greek story.

The season concludes with the Choral Union concert at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, May 10.