Political Science Honorary Inducts Members

Ten students were formally inducted on May 11 into the SUNY Cortland Zeta Delta chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honors society formed to recognize outstanding achievement in political science.

The inductees include Andrew J. Buckley, John D. Chavez, Christopher D. Koehler, Kyle Martin, Richard A. Morin, Bryan L. Mulcahey, Neilson G. Robles, Rebecca L. Schnirel, Gary Stevens, and Vitaly Yanchuk.

Membership in Pi Sigma Alpha is open to juniors, seniors and graduate students. Undergraduates must be at least juniors who have completed a minimum of 10 credit hours in political science, including at least one upper-division course, with a “B” or higher grade point average (GPA). They must also have achieved an overall GPA placing them in the top one-third of their junior or senior class. They need not be political science majors to qualify for membership.

Robert Spitzer, Political Science Department, advises the Zeta Delta chapter. Formed in 1970, Cortland’s chapter was one of the first to be established among political science departments in the SUNY system.