Distinguished and Award-Winning Faculty and Staff

SUNY Designations

The SUNY Distinguished Faculty rank is a promotion to a prestigious, tenured rank above that of professor. This designation is SUNY's highest tribute.

The Chancellor's Awards for Excellence provide system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. 

Distinguished faculty and SUNY Chancellor's Award Winners are listed in the College catalogs.

Campus Awards

Cortland Excels - Honoring Excellence in Teaching, Research, and Service

2011 award winners (PDF).

SUNY Cortland's Professional Service Award


Rozanne Brooks Dedicated Teacher Award

2012: Steven B. Broyles, Biological Sciences Department

Student Affairs Faculty Connection Award

2012: Sharon Steadman, Sociology/Anthropology Department

2011: Susan Wilson, Recreation, Parks and Leisure Studies Department

President's Award for Excellence in Classified Service

2013: Marie Blanden, Division of Student Affairs

2012: Mitchell Seamans, Mail Services/Central Warehouse

2011: Rhonda Moulton, School of Arts and Sciences

2010: Lori Crandall, Childhood/Early Childhood Education Department

2009: Sheila Gregoire, School of Education

2008: Susan Teeter, School of Arts and Sciences